The Swedish Grand Prize for Journalism Supports Freedom of the Press

Freedom of speech and independent quality journalism are the focus of several awards and initiatives linked to Bonnier.

The focus of several initiatives and awards that are linked to Bonnier is freedom of speech and independent quality journalism. In the early 1950s, book publisher Albert Bonnier Jr. saw the need to stimulate professional journalism – “the good pen” as he put it.

The first award, intended for Bonnier’s own journalists, was established in 1953. In 1966, it became the Grand Prize for Journalism and became available to any journalist in Sweden, for excellent journalistic work. More than 50 years later, the award is still the most prestigious of its kind in the country.

There are five awards in total: Storyteller of the Year, Innovator of the Year, Voice of the Year, Scoop of the Year, and Lukas Bonnier’s Grand Prize for Journalism for long-term journalistic achievements.

The prize recognizes the best in journalism, from authentic stories about people who travel from their home countries to join ISIS, to amusing educational pieces from other parts of the world. And from discussions with listeners, readers and viewers to crucial scoops.

The jury consists of 12 members and three deputies from all types of media within the industry, and often often from Bonnier’s competitors.

To bring attention to, and to award, quality journalism and freedom of the press is both morally and strategically justified for Bonnier. Therefore, several of Bonnier’s other businesses have their own activities that promote these values. In Estonia, an annual Bonnier Prize is awarded for investigative journalism. Each year, Expressen gives out the Per Wendel Prize for outstanding journalism. Expressen is also an active supporter in the campaign to free Swedish-Eritrean journalist Dawit Isaak, who has been imprisoned in Eritrea since 2001.

Winners of Grand Prize for Journalism 2019

Storyteller of the Year

Karwan Faraj and Rosa Fernandez, Swedish Radio

Innovator of the Year

Malin Mendel, SVT

Voice of the Year

Hanna Hellquist

Scoop of the Year

Per Agerman, Joachim Dyfvermark, Axel Gordh Humlesjö and Linda Larsson Kakuli, SVT

Lukas Bonnier’s Grand Prize for Journalism

Bibi Rödöö, Sveriges Radio